Perfect Timing

I couldn’t be happier with the timing of the release of Warlords of Draenor.  I was worried, you see. I don’t have any unscheduled vacation left, and thoughts that the release would fall at the beginning of November (to give players time to reach level cap in time for the planned Anniversary events) had me worried that I would be left in the dust while I’m on my honeymoon for the first several days of the month.  Earlier would mean figuring out how to either shorten my honeymoon vacation time (not optimal), or only taking one day, the only other available vacation time I have remaining.

But, I return home just in time to get set for returning to work, then plopping myself in front of my computer for a marathon of leveling. There’s even enough time for me to potentially reach level cap if I’m lucky.  My wife is wonderfully supportive, and willing to put up with loosing my attention for the remainder of our vacation time – but I suspect she understands that she would have trouble whether she was supportive or not, because new expansions and learning what needs to be done takes over my brain pretty thoroughly anyway. 

This will be the first expansion we haven’t started together, too, which is a little bittersweet. But she is interested in story, and the story of Warlords doesn’t hold a ton of appeal for her.  Unfortunately, MMOs are not the best conveyor of stories, and it has become clear over the past decade that Blizzard designs quests for the release of a new expansion, but after that, everything revolves around group content in some way or another. Additionally, there’s rarely any closure on the main story line if you don’t raid and/or do dungeons.   Changing that would bring less meaning for the endgame content, so I don’t really have a good solution to that problem. It’s just one that is out there.

The only down side to all of this is that I have a few things I want to accomplish before the expansion drops, and I’m starting to feel the time crunch. Everything has to be ready before we leave, and there’s a lot to do for the wedding/honeymoon as well.

Posted on August 15, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

